Category        : Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

Author            :           Mr Achmat Dangor

Title                :           His oeuvre

Language       :           English

 Achmat Dangor


Achmat Dangor has 30 years of experience in the private and non-profit sectors focusing in strategy development and implementation, change management, strategic communications, stakeholder relations and resource mobilisation. He is an established author of novels, poetry, film-scripts and essays.

His publications include:

  • Waiting for Leila, Novella and short stories – Ravan Press 1981
  • Bulldozer – Poetry collection 1983
  • Ravan Exiles Within, Poetry collection COSAW, 1989
  • Voices from Within, Black poetry from Southern Africa, ed. A.Dangor & M. Chapman Z Town Trilogy, Novel Ravan Press 1990
  • Private Voices, Poetry collection – COSAW 1992
  • Kafka’s Curse Novel – Kwela Press 1998 (Won CH Bosman Prize 1989)
  • Bitter Fruit Novel – Kwela Press 2001 (short-listed, 2003 Dublin Impact
  • Award and 2004 Booker Prize.)
  • Strange Pilgrimages Short story collection, Pan MacMillan 2013.

He has written various articles published in magazines around the world; papers on development, focusing on race/racism, poverty eradication and community development.

Special Features Contributor, Argus newspaper, South Africa 1994 – 2001