Posts From gregg

PRESS RELEASE – 22 May 2019

PRESS RELEASE IMMEDIATE RELEASE Miriam Tlali Reading and Book Club joins the world in celebrating Africa Month, 26th May 2019, at 13H00 to 15H00, 74 Mimosa Road, Randpark Ridge, Johannesburg The month of May is recognised as Africa month – a time when the continent of Africa commemorates the founding of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). Celebrated on the 25th May, Africa Day signals the anniversary of the formation of (OAU)

PRESS RELEASE (29TH March 2019)

PRESS RELEASE (29TH March 2019) Released by the wRite associates   EXTENSION ANNOUNCED:  THE 14TH CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS EXTENDED TO 30TH APRIL 2019   Due to public request, the South African Literary Awards (SALA) Call for Submissions is extended to 30th April 2019. This was considered after we had received many requests by entrants pleading for extension to enable their submissions make it for the SALA 2019 edition. SALA resolved


For immediate release 16.03.18 Enquiries: Sindiswa Seakhoa +27733450168 SALA adds two new categories In their thirteenth year of existence, the South African Literary Awards (SALA) have added to their existing line-up two brand new categories, the Novel Award and Children’s Literature Award. More than 170 South African literature practitioners have been honoured since the awards inception in 2005. They started off with only one category, the National Poet Laureate Prize.

2017 SALA Shortlist

2017 SALA Shortlist Category: First-time Published Author Award Author Book title Language Amy Jephta Kristalvlakte Afrikaans Moses Shimo Seletisha Tšhutšhumakgala Sepedi Mohale Mashigo The Yearning English Category: k.Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award Author Book title Language Kopano Matlwa Period Pain English Nthikeng Mohlele Pleasure English Category: Poetry Award Author Book title Language Helen Moffett Prunings English Ronelda S Kamfer Hammie Afrikaans Simphiwe Ali Nolutshungu Iingcango Zentliziyo isiXhosa Category: Creative Non-

About US

ABOUT US Founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the National Department of Arts and Culture in 2005, the main aim of the South African Literary Awards is to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as ground-breaking producers and creators of literature, while it celebrates literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and