For immediate release
Released by the wRite associates

Celebrating 15 years of advancing South Africa’s literary heritage, the South African Literary Awards (SALA) is inviting South African authors to submit their work (published in 2018 and 2019) in eleven (11) categories in all official South Africa’s languages.
The 2020 categories are:
1. Children’s Literature Award
2. Youth Literature Award
3. First-time Published Author Award
4. K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
5. Poetry Award
6. Nadine Gordimer Short story Award
7. Creative Non-fiction Literary Award
8. Literary Translators Award
9. Literary Journalism Award
10. Novel Award
11. Posthumous Literary Award

Selections are made from published authors whose primary input is in imaginative writing – fiction as well as creative non-fiction. The work must demonstrate good linguistic presentation, the nation’s identity, societal values, universal truths, and cultural aesthetics. It must also contribute to social cohesion, nation building and transcendence of time. Since its inception in 2005 SALA has honoured two hundred and four (222) recipients in fourteen 14 categories.

Founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the then national Department of Arts and Culture (DAC) and now the Department of Sports, Arts and Culture (DSAC) in 2005, the main aim of the South African Literary Awards is to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as groundbreaking producers and creators of literature, while it celebrates literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages. The Awards strive to become the most prestigious and respected accolades in the South African literary space.

Submissions information
Nomination Forms:
Download Submissions and Nomination Forms on or
Submissions must be sent to:
Physical address:
The South African Literary Awards
74 Mimosa Road, Randpark Ridge, 2125
Postal address:
PO Box 1465
Randpark Ridge
For enquiries:
011-791 9209 and/or 060 509 5857
Important dates:
Submissions opening date : 24th February 2020
Submissions closing date : 24th April 2020
Announcement of nominees : 30th September 2020
Announcement of winners : 7th November 2020
— Ends—