Press Release

SALA honoured fourteen South Africa’s authors at the 10th South African Literary Awards on the 7th November 2015, Tshwane Events centre, Pretoria.

Receiving the awards were:

1. First-time Published Author Award English Carol Campbell


My Children Have Faces
2. k Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award English Zukiswa Wanner London, Cape Town, Joburg


3.  Creative Non-Fiction Award English Edwin Cameron Justice: A Personal Account


4.Lifetime Achievement Literary Award English Achmat Dangor His oeuvre
Afrikaans Antjie Krog Her oeuvre
5. Poetry Award


Afrikaans Charl-Pierre Naude Al die lifelike dade
isiXhosa Mangaliso Buzani   Ndisabhala Imibongo
Sepedi Bishop M.T Makobe Tsa Ngweding wa Letopanta
6. Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award Afrikaans Abraham H de Vries Maar wie snoei die rose in die nag?
7. Literary Journalism Award English Michelle Magwood Her oeuvre
8. Posthumous Literary Award R.R.R and H.I.E Dhlomo
9. Literary Translators Award Afrikaans to English Karen Press Mede-wete & Synapse


10. Chairperson’s Award Peter Mtuze His oeuvre


This year’s instalment was outstanding as SALA presented at the awards ceremony, the 4th International African Writers Day Lecture delivered by Prof Micere Mugo, Kenyan-born poet, playwright, literary critic and Emeritus Full Professor (retired) from the Department of African American Studies at Syracuse. The SALA programme was also preceded by the SALA Legacy programmes comprising a two-day AfreeWritePlayArts Expo comprising books exhibitions and discussions, storytelling, book reading by Nali’libali, National Library of South Africa and Lisahluma Skills Development Services. The expo also included arts and crafts and African games presented by Kara Heritage Institute. Creative Writing Skills Development programme in poetry and short stories facilitated by the National Poet Laureate, Keorapetse Kgositsile and author, translator, film maker and publisher Victor Molele.

The prestigious South African Literary Awards were founded in 2005 by the wRite associates, in partnership with the national Department of Arts and Culture, as a platform to honour authors, writers, poets and literary practitioners who made and continue to make a contribution in the literary landscape in South Africa.

To date, SALA has honoured 161 authors, amongst them Nobel Laureate, Nadine Gordimer, National Poet Laureates Keorapetse Kgositsile and Mazisi Kunene, multi-award winning novelist, poet, painter and academic, Zakes Mda, novelist Kgebetli Moele, literary journalists Bongani Madondo and Sabata-Mpho Mokae, translator, poet, novelist and children’s writer Chris van Wyk, poet Kobus Moolman, book critics Karabo Kgoleng and Jenny Crwys-Williams, short story writers Makhosazana Xaba and Reneilwe Malatji, scholars and prolific writers Mbulelo Mzamane, Ashraaf Kagee, Nhlanhla Maake, Imraan Coovadia, and many others.

SALA has grown in leaps and bounds from when it started with only one category: the National Poet Laureate Prize and later followed by the Lifetime Achievement Literary Award, bestowed on luminaries across the land.

SALA honours writing and writers in all official languages across ten categories.

They are:

  1. k. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
  2. First- Time published
  3. Nadine Gordimer Short Story Literary Award
  4. Poetry Award,
  5. Literary Translators Award,
  6. Lifetime Achievement Literary Award,
  7. Posthumous Literary Award,
  8. Literary Journalism Award,
  9. Creative Non-Fiction Award and,
  10. Chairperson’s Award.

For enquiries and more information:

call: 011-791 3585

Issued by the South African Literary Awards © 2015